Program of the conference

January 22, 3:30 - 9:00 PM CET (Check your time-zone here.)

The whole program is in English. Selected parts of the program are marked with a language sign to mark that they are interpreted into other languages.

3:30 PM CET / 9:30 AM EST

Technical check-in

4:00 PM CET / 10:00 AM EST

Welcome

Interpretation into:
Czech, Spanish, Romanian, Hebrew, Russian, French

4:20 PM CET / 10:20 AM EST

Keynote speech

Interpretation into:
Czech, Spanish, Romanian, Hebrew, Russian, French

Getting Sh*t on Those Boots: The First Five Years of the Young People's Community

The YPC at The Montessori Place is in its 6th year, with 35 young people between the ages of 12-16. Paul will be sharing this journey with us, starting with the original planning documents they created in July 2014 at the first NAMTA Orientation in Sweden. He will describe how they got from that planning document to Day 1 in September 2016 with 5 students, the lessons and challenges of those first years, and where the community is at now, five years later. 

6:00 PM CET / 12:00 PM EST

Break

6:15 PM CET / 12:15 PM EST

Community Work

Interpretation into:
Czech, Spanish, Romanian, Hebrew, Russian, French

During this community work we will discuss together the most pressing topics of the adolescent period in Montessori education and also share our experiences with each other. Part of the work will be done in small groups so that everyone has space and opportunity to get to the heart of the matter. Every perspective, every question and every experience is welcome. We will ask selected questions to Paul in the next part of the programme.

7:25 PM CET / 1:25 PM EST

Break

7:40 PM CET / 1:40 PM EST

Questions and Answers with Paul Pillai

Interpretation into:
Czech, Spanish, Romanian, Hebrew, Russian, French

You come to the conference with many questions regarding the topics of planning, establishing and operating a Montessori adolescent program. Some of the questions will be answered during the keynote speech. Other questions will naturally be resolved with your colleagues as you work together in the community. Questions that will still remain to be answered will be put to Paul during this discussion.

8:50 PM CET / 2:50 PM EST

Community Activity

Interpretation into:
Czech, Spanish, Romanian, Hebrew, Russian, French

Cutest and Ugliest

Most of us will be attending the conference from our personal space, so let’s take advantage and get to know each other personally! During this quick and fun game (don’t worry, it’s not competitive!) we will learn more about each other through the special objects in our lives. Be ready to laugh and have fun!

9:05 PM CET / 3:05 PM EST

Conclusion

Interpretation into:
Czech, Spanish, Romanian, Hebrew, Russian